Canada.

I know I’m only a sophomore, but next year I’m going to be a junior. Which means my parents are starting to ask questions and I’m going to need answers. So, I started looking into my future. And what does my future possibly hold? Canada.

I kind of maybe think I want to be a librarian. It’s kind of weird saying that aloud because from the time I was 11 when people asked what I wanted to be I would say, “An adult.” But here’s how librarian school works: it’s a list of masters programs that can qualify you to be a librarian. But if you want to be something other than the little old lady who checks out books at the front desk, you have to go to an ALA accredited school. Which is a small list of schools with programs that follow specific guidelines. This is a smaller list of schools but some of them are really cool. Simmons in Boston is great. But the crown jewel of my future is University of British Columbia in Vancouver.

Let me show you why:

And if one were to explore the site’s guide for international students you would find the segment about “Understanding Canadians.” Here is how one is one is to understand Canadians:

  1. “You will make a good impression if you are on time for appointments, meetings, classes, and social engagements. If you cannot keep an appointment or are going to be late, it is expected that you’ll inform those who are expecting you.”
  2. “In most cases, Canadians relate to one another informally. It is acceptable for students to ask questions or even disagree with the professor, if they do so respectfully. Students commonly wear casual attire on campus and use slang among friends.”
  3. “Canadians tend to be polite and apologetic. They say “please” and “thank you” often in social situations. When waiting in line, people line up in an orderly manner and expect others to do the same. When they interrupt or bump into one another, they may say, “Excuse me.”

Now all I want in life is to go to Vancouver. Bring it on two more years of college.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Canada.

  1. I’ve always wanted to be a librarian too! but not in canada because it is COLD.

    I’m opting for CA

  2. I loved the 3 facts at the bottom of this post. Also I agree with the previous comment, Canada may be a bit too cold for my taste but other than that it sounds like a wonderful country.

Leave a Reply

