Creating the blog

Could also be titled: Feeling like an old person on the internet.

The ingredients of creating the blog and adding the plugins:

1/2 a Cup of thinking of a domain that will be easy to remember

2 Cups of trying to buy the domain from a site I only remember for their bizarrely suggestive commercials

1/4 a Teaspoon of freaking out because I had no idea what to do next.

2 Tablespoons of feeling like an idiot because the Reverend Groom (as Foss always refers to him as) has written step by step tutorials for everything

1 Cup of Following the instructions

After putting all that together, remember to read the line about CIC taking 24-48 hours to get everything up and running unlike me who panicked when that wasn’t all set up (only I could mess up such easy instructions) five minutes after hitting enter but eventually got all that straightened out.

Decorating your blog after it has been fully cooked can also be tricky. Be careful not to click on themes that won’t let you adjust anything about it and doesn’t like to be deleted. Also, fully read what the plugins are for because I clicked a couple that sounded fun, but really just made me sign up for things I didn’t want to sign up for. Eventually, I chose to go with the ones the wise professor recommended and a daily quotes one because who doesn’t like a new quote from a famous person every day?

All in all, I’m just proud that this all came together without anymore issues because I am expecting this to crash any day now. Fingers crossed it doesn’t.

Also, old man in a sweater of the day (he has some pretty sweet moves):

5 Comments

Filed under Assignment

5 responses to “Creating the blog

  1. Awesome. I love the way you took the assignment and creatively made it into a recipe 🙂

  2. Hilarious! I have been following that same recipe. Mine has been coming out a bit dry…

  3. Jim

    Fine, fine work, and the animated GIF of the old man in the sweater is brilliant, did you make that? I love the whole recipe motif.

  4. iamonlyamaid

    Sadly, I did not make that. But it is so funny! I tried dancing like that while posting it and did not look nearly as awesome.

  5. Kaitlin

    catherine mohr, WHY ARE YOU SO FUNNY? this is hilarious.

    one. that little girl is adorbs.
    two. OLD MAN=HILARIOUS AND MOST BRILLIANT THING I’VE EVER SEEN.

    you’re awesome.

Leave a comment